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Income Stats – August 2010

Hi!

This time I’m a bit slow to update the incomes, there are several reasons to this. Anyway, being quiet here means that my workload has increased a lot, due to recent SEO stuff that I’m doing.

I’ve launched several new sites, and more to go soon. I also did a lot of planning, and had to adjust many things.

OK, in this month one of my main sites still didn’t get back to top so it didn’t produce any good income at all. And I rarely checked my stats, thinking that if I make 2000$, that’s good anyway. Well, seems that I’ve mistaken a bit :)

August 2010 – 4168.05 $

Ok, looks like I cannot write a lot, just have to say that my strategy of diversification across several affiliate networks, offers and products saves me when some major drop happens. Last year, in September 2009, I had 1 good affiliate site and when it was banned by google for no obvious reason, I lost around 50% of my income. The rest was lost after adwords ban. Now I see my site down, and yet my incomes are growing. I’ve simply got several other sites in top 3-5 google now.

Last sites I lauched in the 1st week of August are in top 3 now and getting traffic. Several sites I launched 2 weeks ago, are also growing fast.. There’s some negative side as well – CPA offers are gone, so conversion rates suffer now. I noticed this and now I’m launching several sites for CPA and more sites for more stable offers that are long term. This month I also plan to significantly adjust my backlinking strategy.

Ok, thanks for reading, I hope to update the blog for more hands-on stuff.

PPV Campaigns Walkthrough

08.08.10

Today I was sitting and learning new SEO stuff, and decided to take a step aside and switch my mind. In this month I planned to spend over 500$ running CPA offers with PPV traffic. This amount of money came from my June paid traffic experiments, and I decided to use this income for creating a new branch of my current affiliate business.

I started from learning how to create a PPV landing page in Affportal, but then decided to see what creatives are offered by CPA network, and found one that is great as a PPV lander, and mimics the offer page design etc.

It took me 2 hours to set everything up, there was a huge mess with Prosper202 tracking links, but finally I managed to sort everything out with help of PPV Playbook forum and a bit of good thinking. Once the offer lp and the tracking was completed, I’ve decided to grab URLs to bid on.

Easy way is to just go to Affportal, type in the related keywords and scrape top 10 or more URLs ranking for these keywords. I did this in May, and ended up bidding on over 100 URLs, and there was some competition for many of them. Only 1 or 2 URLs converted consistently, but my ROI wasn’t Ok then, and conversion rate was terrible, even with landing page.

This time, I’ve decided to put some thought into the process and actually find the demographics that could be interested in this offer – I don’t mean just age, income and sex and education level, but more deep analysis. After determining initial URLs, I then manually grabbed 51 URLs where my supposedly targeted demographics should hang on :)

The campaign was launched in LeadImpact, it took me just 3 minutes. Now I’ll be waiting for the keywords approval and initial results. The daily budget is set to 15$ for now, offer payout is 4.5$. I was happy to see that only 5 or 6 URLs from my list had higher bids, the rest is minimum bid of 0.015$ per impression. That could mean 2 things – either I’m a bit smarter than my competition, or these URLs were tested by other affiliates and there were no offers that fit these URLs, so I made wrong assumptions.

Real test will show how that goes, now I’m switching back to my SEO stuff… so much work here!

09.08.10

Today, according to PPV network, 545 impressions. Prosper202 shows no data, and the CPA offer shows 4 clicks. No leads for this day.

I haven’t checked the performace since I’ve been busy with other work. This is wrong since PPV campaign should be tracked several times a day, competition may outbid some targets, some targets may have huge traffic and eat all the budget etc. 4/545=0.73% CTR of the landing page – really bad! The higher CTR, the more profitable campaign will be.

PPV Spend – 8.6445$

Income – 0$

NET Loss – 8.65$

10.08.10

Today is the second day of my campaign, which I didn’t track eighter. I see huge variety of data between PPV network impressions report, Prosper202 LP visits report, and CPA offer clicks report – or maybe I’m missing something due to lack of experience.

Total impressions (PPV network report) – 1301

Total clicks (Prosper202) – 851

Total clicks (CPA) – 19

PPV spend – 20.27$

Income – 18$ (4 leads)

NET Loss – 1.12$

I’ve just found that my Prosper202 reports are in my local time, and CPA shows stats in EST (New York), so I cannot track everything to the point. These 4 leads are shown in Prosper as of 11.08. More, the keyword-level tracking didn’t work, so I don’t know what URLs were responsible for these leads.

I need to ask questions on forum about tracking issues, and what 851 click in Prosper could mean

11.08.10

Today’s stats are as follows:

Impressions – 905

Clicks – 17 (CTR 1.88%)

Leads – 0

NET Loss – 15.29$

12.08.10

I’ve just updated my bids (made all 51 keywords bids highest) and switched offer to another CPA network with higher payout. Why did that – for this new CPA network I can track exact leads and spends right in the Leadimpact account, thanks to postback pixel installed. So I know what URLs convert for sure.

When I run this offer in May, I found 1 URL that converts consistently, and now I’m not using this URL in this campaign. I want to see how that goes with the new CPA network, at least I can now rely on Prosper202 and Leadimpact, if prosper failes, I will use LI reporting.

Impressions – 888

Clicks – 14 (CTR 1.58%)

Leads – 0

NET Loss – 15.83$

13.08.10

Today I’ve stopped this campaign.

14.08.10

Did nothing with PPV campaigns.

15.08.10

Today I’ve decided to test the trial offer on Leadimpact. I’ve initially planned to direct link to the offer and not put much effort in this, but as I looked at Pop-up preview in Affportal, the offer page didn’t fit into the Leadimpact popup screen.

I’ve created a quick landing page in Affportal landing page builder, and linked it to my aff link. Also went to URL scraper and decided to scrape first 2 pages of URLs for 1 related keyword. Then I created modifications to these URLs in order to get more traffic from these. In Leadimpact I made my bids highest and daily budget set to 30$ (equals to offer payout). THe tracking seems to be installed as well, will see how it works. My cap in case of 0 conversions is 60$ (2 days run).

16.08.10

New targets for trial offer campaign aren’t approved yet.

17.08.10

Same story today – no activity yet.

18.08.10

I’ve lost patience and asked Leadimpact to review my campaign. I also took 13$ lead offer from my CPA network and decided to create direct linking campaigns. Checked the landing page in pop preview on Affportal, and made sure that call to actions are inside the popup screen.

I’ve decided to test 2 strategies with this offer, in MediaTraffic I launched campagin targeting Youtube videos related to my offer, total of 230+ targets. I don’t know if this will convert and if there ‘s any traffic – my bids are minimal at 0.015$ per impression.

Daily budget is 15$ and cap is 1/48 hours.

Then, I decided to implement the 2nd strategy on Leadimpact, and targeted the audience that has potentially could convert for this offer. I took my URLs from Affportal Alexa, Quantcast and Compete URLs database, since these URLs are in top 1 000 000 in Alexa, I hope to see some traffic from them. Total of 25 keywords. Budget is also 15$ and I saw that bids for this kind of promotion are higher – around 0.025$ per impression.

I’m eager to see how that goes, and hope this time prosper202 will work well.

Ok, down to the results:

leadimpact impr – 768

prosper202 – 494 clicks

CPA network – 588 clicks

leads – 0

19-30.08.10

During this period the stats from leadimpact, prosper202 and CPA network messed up, this campaign was a direct link, and I haven’t understood which results are valid. Seems that prosper202 doesn’t track as precise as needed for this sort of traffic. I made 0 leads and stopped this campaign.

total spend (leadimpact) – 45.02$

mediatraffic – 106.50$

17.08.10-30.08.10 – Last campaign this month

I’ll be brief here, after the major fall with 13$ lead campaign that I direct linked, I’ve decided to test the 30$ trial campaign on Leadimpact. I’ve created a landing page and during the17-24 august I targeted URLs. the traffic was tiny so on 25.08 I got my keywords approved (over 900 keywords related to my offer) and as you see that traffic spiked.

Date

08/17/10

Impressions

46

Spend

1,9861

08/18/10 120 4,4541
08/19/10 88 3,2891
08/20/10 94 3,2233
08/21/10 88 2,8873
08/22/10 54 1,2207
08/23/10 61 1,4385
08/24/10 8 1,1103
08/25/10 1 lead – 30$ 149 2,7646
08/26/10 1 lead – 30$ 553 9,5208
08/27/10 525 9,0424
08/28/10 1 lead – 30$ 375 6,5808
08/29/10 366 6,4397
08/30/10 59 1,039

Total results for this campaign:
Spend – 53.96$
Income – 90$
Net Profit – 36.04$

Conclusion

Total spend – 332.86$

Total income – 122.40$

Net loss – 210.46$

Considering I was too busy with other projects, and didn’t pay time to PPV campaigns (that resulted in some big loss of 106$ in mediatraffic), still this whole system can be profitable if treated more seriously. I saw loser campaigns, and finally I managed to create a campaign that is in black ink now. It’s worth split-testing landers, uncovering keywords that are bringing ongoin traffic and tie the lander to these keywords, dd more targets and definitely add more and more campaigns.

Next month I’ll not be actively playing with PPV, since it requires more dedication. Currently I’m busy with lots of SEO projects, and cannot spread myself across so many tasks.

Again, with proper tracking, daily monitoring of spend and traffic, it’s possible to test many campaigns and spent 10-40$ to identify campaign potential. Much less than with PPC, where I spent 100$s just to find that campaign is a dud.

If fact, I allocated 500$ to spend on PPV this month. Whatever net result might be. I see some return, which is not bad for some first steps in PPV game. I got a lot of experience (both how to do things, how not to do things) and what is more important, I created several good ideas that are worth testing :) Just need more time for this.

Seeing Consistent Daily Income From SEO

Hi mates!

I’ve just decied to give a quick update about my progress. These days I’m working on several areas, including consistent link building and new sites creation.

I’ve been pretty upset to see the major drop in rankings ofone of my main money making sites. Due to this fact, I cannot repeat the previous month’s success and my incomes will be lower (if only I don’t manage to repeat what I did yesterday, read on ;) )

I’ve created a completely outsourced link building routine, that is now only 1.5 weeks old, and I see a good lift in rankings of my 4 sites that I now consistently backlinking. 2 of the sites are new, and they both jumped from postiions like 50+ or 80+ to the top 10 results.

One of these sites is only 3 weeks old, but it’s ranking on #4 for my main keyword. #2 for my sub-keyword as well, in google.com and .co.uk. Yahoo positions are lower but this is Ok for me. Seems that I made some mistake in determining the traffic volume, since I’m not seeing good traffic for this keyword. Anyway, the product should be pretty popular, so I hope it will spike )

Another site is 4 weeks old, and it’s jumped to #9 from 80+ during the last 1.5 weeks. Still no good traffic on this position, but I have some heavy-weight links to add, so I hope to beat some top boys here and make some good $$$.

As I told, my good old site lost all its rankings, I mean ALL my keywords, except Bing where rankings stayed. I had to switch on my brain and develop a rescue plan for it! Well, as I added some edu backlinks, I see the positions are getting back, but still far from my top old results that made me money every day. google analytics & webmaster tools – now I tend to advoid this more and more. whatever shit happens to my sites, these sites got analytics installed on them… strange ?

My second site (very tough keyword) also disappeared from top 1000 google suddenly! I spent tons of time to get this ranked and all I got was position 64 for my keyword. Top. Yesterday I accidentally found a PR9 backlink and point it to my site. In several hours the sandbox ended for my site ;) Now it’s on position 53, not bad. I need some more PR9 links, seems this is a good cure for all these sudden drops.

Now working a lot on my further experiments, I now look into learning as much as I can about increasing the indexing rate of backlinks. I know there’s some soft and plugins that can do it, just need to dive into this and develop some easy system based on the principles of this paid soft.

My PPV stuff resides in the draft, not much activity here since ppv traffic provider is very slow in approving keywords, so I’m not active here. Hope September will be a good month – need to get my sites back to top fast.

Btw, now for this month I see at least 50$ a day from SEO consistently, daily. Sometimes over 100$, but in general it’s 30-60$. I had no 0 income days in the last 2 weeks. The key is diversifying – building more sites and ranking them in top 10 – top 5. I’m now using the strategies that I shared in previous posts, nothing new yet (but developing a further advanced SEO expertise now).

Quick Update And Small SEO Tip That Makes Difference

This month seems to start with the same slowdown as the July, sales are coming in bunches or sometimes I see no sales at all during several days (I mean separate affiliate programs, not overall sales).

As I’m having several sites now with different affiliate programs, this diversification makes my daily income pretty consistent- averaging 100$ now, today I’ve already made 194$, will see if I can jump to 300$ again ) I’m a bit upset to see that my main aff program is “sleeping” now, if the niche were a bit more active, I could count on 200$-500$ days…

Anyway, I’m now actively working on several projects, launched new CPA site several days ago and made press release blast. No leads yet, however seems that press release helped it to climb to #7 for 2 word keyword, and today I already see it on position 83 for main keyword. I’ve also started profile links today, 15-20 total and considering not all profiles are successful, got 13 fresh profile links today. I’ve pinged them and will create RSS feed and submit it for better indexing.

I’m also working now on my new experiment, paid traffic again. This time I’ve allocated specific amount to spend, and will not repeat the June mistake of not capping the spend. I’m currently running a draft post with daily updates, and I think you will see it by the end of month.

Another concept that I developed now after analysing my current business (I’m doing this monthly) is what I call “smart reinvesting” – this deserves a separate post, now I cannot write it – too many serious tasks and I’ve finally been affected by this wierd weather change – sleeping 3-4 hours a day was not good for my nervous system plus I worked like crazy, and recently felt worse… Now working less. Anyway, this concept is really interesting and can make some difference in gorwing the affiliate business in a diversified way – to survive and grow online.

Also I’m working on creating small system – automation of tasks that can be outsourced and automated. Doingeverything myself is really distracting! backlinks, tracking content delivery to different sites, analysing and learning new stuff in SEO, PPV, planning etc….this all cannot exist in one head )) So I want to delegate several most results-driven SEO routines to freelancers, and concentrate on more advanced stuff.

Forgot to mention – today I’ve put the first stone into the “SEO edge” over competition…this requires some time and money investment, but I will try to make it work for higher competitive keywords that cannot be dominated fast with standard backlinking methods like article marketing, profile links, blog commenting etc…

I can give really good advice mates – always analyse those who dominate google, any niche – no matter! That’s where REAL SEO is, not on the sales pages of another article network, seo course and similar stuff… Don’t listen to these never-ending debates like “whether dupe content is bad or OK”, or “the good keywords should have less 30000 in-quotes competition and top 10 sites are under 50 (100, 1000, xxxxx) backlinks indexed” – test for yourself and see what really works. To be frank, knowing SEO basics is enough to understand what is going on – such ebooks like SEO Made Easy or Jon Ledger’s SEO ebook give basics, the rest is hidden in top 10! Just need to analyse and think a little bit…

OK, that’s it for now, time to have small rest and work on! Stay tuned mates, I hope this month will be a bit better than previous one, I’m over 1000$ in income already, but hope to  jump to 3000$ net at least.

Income Stats – July 2010

July started as a pretty slow month – vacations, heat etc, and during the first 2 weeks I didn’t do much work, except for learning new stuff and finding new SEO strategies.I didn’t expect the boost in the recent week, but anyway, it’s great.

Unfortunately, my 500$ days are not consistent, these are just lucky days when all the niches start to convert higher then average. But what worth mentioning is as I kept building new sites, my highest income jumped from 300$-days to 500$ days, and average daily commisssions are around 30-100$.

Let’s now get down to the actual monthly earnings:

July 2010 – 4133,70$

That’s what I expected in September, but not in July )) Ok, in this month I didn’t launch any paid traffic campaigns, and this income is all free traffic from search engines.

How Some Of My Sites Performed

1 clickbank sniper – 101,57$, 3 sales and 4th sale was refunded. This was the 3rd site that I pushed to top 1 with my high PR backlinks. I have to say that if the competition keeps pushing the same keyword, it’s worth doing consistently, as later the site may drop a bit letting more agressive buddies take higher positions.

1st product sniper – the site was somewhere on page 10 or so, but since it was making me good money in top 3, I’ve experimented with high PR backlinks and managed to get it back to top 1 and this site is responsible for making me over 700$ in leads. Now my own Ezinearticle outranked it and took position 1, so the leads are slower (( Bad, really? Why, I prefer to find new opportunities in failed situations, so I decided to test some new idea that come to my mind!

2nd product sniper – I got the site back from #14 to #1 in google and yahoo, it made only 1 sale of 49$.

Authority site – I stopped my case study since the traffic volume appeared to be much lower than google KWTool predicted. The site generated 164,93$ – 4 sales with a good 7% conversion rate. If I managed to get at least 25% of the prodicted 9900 visitors per month, and convert them at 7% CR, I could make around 170 sales and over 5000$ in income. But thanks to google keyword tool, it never happened.

My local SEO site – that new baby rocked and made me 31 sale and 261,34$ in commissions (avg commission is lower than 10$ ) . This is my best result for a brand new site ever. The conversion rate is around 14,3%.

And my last baby, the most successful in this month,…

CPA Offer Site

What I can say here… Despite the incredibly low conversion rate, this site generated 640$ and around 22 leads. All from free google and yahoo traffic.

In the last month, I promoted several offers from Azoogle with paid traffic, my CPA site was in the middle of page 1 and the traffic was lower. The stats:

Clicks total – 2839, leads total – 32, income total – 547$, spend total – 863,46$, profit total – -316,46$. This is thanks to several leads from SE traffic, as the net loss could be even higher.

Now this month stats, clicks total – 2232, leads total – 23, income total – 652$, spend total – 0$, profil total – 652$. All the traffic was search engines. SEO rocks !

If the offer was still OK and conversion rate were not 1,03% and, say, 5%, I could generate around 111 leads and over 3000$ net profit from this one site alone! Ehhh, let’s consider my 1st attempt at SEO to CPA as a moderate success ).

OK mates, I now need to adjust my current business and think of some ways to go further, plan things out and sort out some issues, so I’m shutting down for today…

Grand

500$+ In 1 Day – Pure SEO

Hi mates!

Yeah while my gmail keeps being bombarded with a new hot launch (Affilojetpack I believe), I keep working on my current SEO projects and studying a lot of new stuff.

In the last several days I saw some dramatic increase in buying activity, but I didn’t pay attemtion to HOW MUCH I’M MAKING :)

I’ve just decided to calculate my earnings (all from organic traffic) for 26.07 and was shocked to see that my total income across all affiliate networks was crazy high:

Aff program 1 – 343.85$

Aff program 2 – 60$

Azoogle CPA site – 116$

Local SEO Site (4 weeks old) – 15.46$

Total – 535.31$

Again, this is all pure profit since I’m not currently running any paid traffic. Truely, diversification is a key – the more income streams we create, the more gross income we see. :)

Keep working mates and the month ends soon, time to see how much we made in this extremely slow and hot month.

Position #14 To Position #1 In 1 Day – Quick How-To

Hi!

I’ve just repeated the small “fix” for my rankings that I described in the previous post.

I told that in order to quickly get to the top positions you don’t always need a lot of UAW submissions, or piles of extra pages added to the site etc… This all is tools & memberships dependence instead of experimenting and finding your own ways to rank high.

This fix seems to have worked for sites that already been in top 10 but later dropped for some reasons. Instead of analysing the possible reasons why it dropped and trying to finally crack the google’s ranking algorythms, here’s what worked for me again.

1. Turn on SEOQuake and type in some keywords with a stiff competition. I did it yesterday for very broad keyword. The keywords should be in the niches where a lot of affiliates are hanging out and there are some affiliate sites in the top 10 for this broad and competitive term. If they rank in the top 10, definitely their strategy is working, and we can borrow the bast backlinks from them :)

2. Find affiliate site and click Yahoo Domain backlinks in the SEOQuake info string under domain name in SERPs. In Yahoo Site Explorer, we can choose to show us 100 backlinks per page (max). THen click “request data” in SEQuake and get the PR data for all backlinks showed by Yahoo.

3. Click “Sort by PR” and start skimming through the list of backlinks, trying to find the pages where we can also easily point backlink to our site. These can be blog comments or similar. Check with NoDoFollow plugin if the backlinks are dofollow.

4. All we need is several PR2-PR4 links. Yesterday I just used 4 backlinks with PR 3 and 4.

5. Next, once the backlinks are placed already (not queued for moderation etc..), copy the page URLs and create a feed (hostmyrss or icerocket or html2rss etc). Submit feed to feed aggregators with SENuke or Magic Submitter or quick indexing of backlinks. I also ping these URLs as well as feed URL in pinger.

6. The process takes 10 to 20 minutes, I did this yesterday and my site got #1 rank in just 1 day (This site never ranked #1 for this keyword, only #4 highest but made sales). My Yahoo rank is #1 for 2 main keywords as well. Btw all I previously did to promote this 1 page site (it still has no contact us, privacy and about pages ) is profile backlinks and little of blog commenting. Again, profile links worked for high Yahoo rankings, but google dropped the site after some time.

At least you can try this easy ranking fix with some adsense sites that may have dropped a bit to page 2 -3 etc… I should do this as well, but I feel soooo lazy again. Maybe I’ll better find another quick & easy ways to rank without much work :)

10000 Adcents Reached And Current Update

Hello!

Despite a major slowdown in sales this month seems to be the shifting point of some sort for me. I’m not going to elaborate more on this right now, but all I can say that after previous month’s results I’ve made a thorough analysis of what I’m doing right now, and I’ve made some changes to my current SEO strategy.

Since 2007 when I opened adsense account and installed a block to my first site, I finally achieved 100$ in adsense, total :) Done this with 12 sites, and 6 or 7 sites are still to be launched, since the content is ready. I don’t plan to build more adsesne sites now, due to much more profitable ventures.

My previous post was about a new site that is now 3+ weeks old. All I did was described in the previous post, and now I can say that local SEO rocks, due to much easier rankings.

So far, for 3 weeks and 2 days I made 15 sales of the product I promote, with 20% conversion rate. Considering that the commission is very low, around 5 to 7$ on average, the site jumped over 100$ in net income. Sales keep rolling in, 1-2 sales every day.

As I said, I didn’t even use the so relied-upon tool Google KW Tool. Let me show you an interesting stuff from the CrazyEgg tracking service:

My 1st site is the site promoting CPA offer. I’ve accidentally discovered that this offer was hot in May and June, and quickly created this site. All I did was analysing the search trend for this offer name vs the general (high traffic keywords) in the same niche. When I found that this offer is on the spike and search volume is much higher than broad keywords, I realised that this keyword is hot and I’ll get much traffic from top 10.

As you see, I got 100 visitors within 28 hours, and CTR was over 60% (I work on page structures to make as many visitors clicking my aff links). If the offer was still alive, this site would make me ton of money, but – bad luck and I only made several leads from it.

My 2nd site is the authority site that I wrote about. This site was build purely from google’s keyword tool data, and at the time of running CrazyEgg test the site was on position 5 or higher for the main keyword. This keyword should get 9900 exact searches per month, so I could expect around 30 visitors daily on position 5. I’ve got 10 visitors or less daily. Thanks to high CTR, I’m still making occasional sales sometimes, but I’ve stopped heavily promoting this site because the competition is really hard (very popular niche).

What I was going to tell by that? I read several blogs and I see that people are conentrating on tools heavily. THis is marketing, tools are just tools, but many people seem to develop tool-oriented mindset, or what-google-tells… or what kind of backlinks works best? profiles or article networks?

My most successful sites are now making money not because I’m targeting keywords with lots of searches according to google. In 2007 I got some email from some aff network announcing the launch of ebook on a new diet that already was featured in the media. Newspapers, magazines etc… I didn’t even look at the search numbers, just created direct linking campaign in adwords bidding on the diet name. It converted like hell.

Once in 2008 I  read a blog post of Zac , mmm forgot his surname, but the guy is superaffiliate and well known blogger. He shared an offer he promoted and showed # of leads he generated daily. This was a throw-away case study for him. I immediately created direct linking campaign in adwords and started to target the content network sites with some offer-related keywords. This campaign spent 150$ in a month and made over 700$ in income, netting me little over 500$ profit.

Now, 3rd short story, these days. I mentioned a sniper site that targets 1 or 2 keywords in keyword rich domain name, created in May or April. This site was in top 3 and made me some nice money until it started to drop after the mayday or something. It had just 1 presell page and contact, privacy pages. Nothing more.So it dropped to positions 100+ and my money flow stopped completely.

Well, I started to add pages, the site jumped back to top, but then disappeared again after 2 or 3 weeks. So I started to think what kind of backlinks it needs – article networks, profiles, I ordered more articles for SENuke, and developed a huge “rescue” plan, that involved links wheels, tiered backlinks, backlinks to backlinks etc…. And it definitely was a lot of work! The plan was about to start in July, but I kept procastinating as it was really complicated.

After several days I was sitting and analysing some top 10 sites in some niche, and looked through their backlinks in SEOQuake. I found several PR4-5 backlinks and spent 10 minutes to point them to my site (that was easy). After 3-4 days I found that my email again receives lead notifications, and found that my site is on position #1 for main keywords. It still #1 and makes me leads every day, sometimes over 100$ a day. My complicated rescue plan still lays on the table. By the way, I still don’t know how many searches these 2 keywords get according to google, I just know that not many, but targeted and buying visitors.

I don’t even spend my time looking for tools or services that will help me rank high. Got enough of them, I paid over 400$ last month on memberships, but the sites targeting high-competition keywords are still not making money, no matter how many profile links I add, or how many pages I add. SEO can be easy, in 2 cases – wehether I’m targeting good keywords with low competition, or I have a trained team that gets 100s of different types of backlinks daily to my sites. Now I’m making my choice.

Hope this post wasn’t too boring :) Take care mates & get ready for increase in sales in September !

Local SEO – Fast Track To Success

In this post I’d like to talk about targeting local markets with SEO. I’ve never done this before and it seems as my big flaw, as sometimes targeting local markets is much easier than conquering US market that is not always the best converting market out there.

About 3 weeks ago I got email from my affiliate program announcing massive offline promotion of some product in the UK in June.

From my experience in PPC, I know that if the product is featured in local newspapers, it becomes a gold mine since it’s much easier to convert due to the “trust” factor” that removes a lot of friction from potential customers and make them buy like crazy.

I even didn’t analyse the US competition for the product keyword, because I decided to build product review site for UK specifically. All I done for research is Google Insights. All my main 3 keywords are at the peak of popularity now, that’s all I need, don’t really care about exact search volume since google gives inaccurate data often or no data at all.

I ordered content, bought local domain (co.uk, org.uk etc), and bought local UK hosting. My first post on this new site was made on June 25 – 2 weeks ago. On June 28 I added last post – actual product review (money page).

On July 1 I made a screenshot showing how google treats local domains and hosting: I used Traffic Travis since Rank Checker was bugging a lot at that time. You can see “previous” results and “top” results and they differ a lot! In fact, both SERPs were tracked with 5 minutes interval, first – google US and then I switched to google UK (my targeted search). In google UK my “local”-optimised site got much higher positions than in google US. This boost is due to domain sitting on the local hosting in UK.

Initial Promotion

Since I was very lazy to work a lot because of very hot weather here in my place, I relied on automatic way of promotion. The only manual thing I did was submission of 3 articles to Ezinearticles directory, targeting both domain and inner pages.

Next, I got press release written and submitted mostly to free press release sites that allow anchored backlinks.

Last, each day from July 2 I added 10 to 30 profile backlinks with SENuke to my main domain targeting 3 main keywords:

product

product uk

buy product

2 Weeks Later – Rankings and Sales

Now my today’s rankings are as follows:

In just 2 weeks Yahoo ranks my site #1 for buy product keyword, and yesterday I made 2 first sales. Today I made another sale already, and as the product converts even from Yahoo, I can imagine how many conversions I can get from google UK top positions, since the lion share of traffic is in G.

Now I will add more content to the site and do more SEO for google rankings, the competition is fierce so I need good link velocity to get to the top in UK.

I will update my blog, however in this month I’m mostly working a lot on evaluating my current SEO strategies and not much on actual link building. Too hot to work all day… I don’t expect big income this month, as sales are really very slow in my main markets. However, I also do some conversion improvement on my CPA site, testing different call to action texts, banners and even fonts. This deserves another post )

Both Guyes Are Cool, What Should I Do?

What would you do? :-)

Option 1 – buy Haloween course, buy Dominating Google course

Option 2 – buy Haloween course, lose the chance to Dominate Google

Option 3 – buy Dominating Google, lose the chance to cash in on Haloween

Option 4 – lose the chance to dominate google and make money on Haloween

See you soon !

Authority Site CS – Weekly Rankings Update + 1 Sale

Hi!

After previous month I’m kind of recovering from being sidetracked, and actually spend more time walking around streets and watching some unrelated to IM stuff on my comp. I supposed to post this weekly update 2 days ago, but all I did was just running Rank Checker.

So here’s the update:

It’s interesting to see how my positions changed over a week, and I did nothing to the site except adding some profile backlinks with SENuke (30 per day). I concentrated on my rebranded version of main keyword, and seems it jumped to position 3, making me new sale of 69.28$.

Other positions have dropped a little, which is OK for a week of doing almost nothing new to the site.

Now I’m in a painful process of deciding which site to concentrate on, since indeed I spread myself too thin and now it’s time to slow down and concentrate my efforts. New sites need to be built, but just building sites is only 1st part of the action, and considering my targeted keyword competition, a lot of maintenance needed to get to the top and stay there.

So, still thinking about the whole thing, I guess it’s better to have low competition keyword that makes 200-300$ a month, instead of “hot” keyword that everybody’s chasing like crazy, and 1 day without backlinking will drop your positions behind more powerful SEO forces.

Income Stats – June 2010

Hello!

Until July, I really thought I hardly made 2000$ in June, however after spending half a day calculating all my incomes and expenses, I see that situation is a bit better and worse at the same time.

OK, down to the earnings:

June 2010 – 3407,38$

I managed to jump over my current income goal again… However, not really )

Time For Honesty

Since I’m pretty open about my successes and failures, I have to admit that I’ve spent a huge money in June playing with paid traffic sources and buying more courses and soft.

This is what happens if you’re unfocused – don’t make this huge mistakes mates – staying focused on several most important aspects of your business is probably 80% of success. If I stayed focused, I could pocket around 1600$ after spend on paid memberships and backlinks etc.

OK, to be exact, in June I spent 2621,17$ (!) so my net profit is only 786,21$. :oops:

Paid Traffic Experiments

I just wanted to make some money fast. That’s the reason why I ventured into this stuff. Sometimes we work hard as hell but see that our efforts produce outcome that is way below our expectations. Next, we start to lose focus, persistence and start to “jump” around thinking that it’s that easy to get what we expected, just need to look at someone who’s already having it and try to pretend we’re at the same level.

I know that many affiliates don’t spend time on SEO and make a killing with CPA offers and paid traffic. If some campaigns turn success, it’s pretty fast to scale from XXX$ a month to XXXXX$ a month and so on… We just need to test and find this gold. That’s what I did.

I tested several PPV networks, as well as 2-tier PPC like Looksmart, Jemamedia, 7search and so on.

I found that some offers do convert even on 2-tier PPC, however due to tracking issues I lost a lot of money before identifying keywords that converted into leads. In total, I spent 1232,79$ on paid traffic.

This equals to buying 4800 profile backlinks on Backlinks Phillipines. I worked with 2 offers, 1 from EWA Private network and 1 Azoogle offer. EWA offer was low payout and I only made 28,80$ in leads (5 or 6) while leaving 149,78$ for PPV traffic. Looks like only 1/3 of all leads were tracked so I could identify some converting URLs, but it wastoo late before I managed to get the tracking to work properly. I used my self-made landing page for this offer, which I’m proud of because I still can hardly work with Photoshop )

Same with Azoogle offer – I made 31 lead and 372$ in income, but due to tracking issues I spent 863,46$ on 2-tier PPC networks. This was a simple direct link, but eventually CPC was higher than EPC so I needed to convert the offer much better to turn this into profits.

Let’s see how much I’d make without paid traffic experiments: without my CPA incomes I’d make 3006$ from SEO, and my total spend would only equal to 1389$, so the net profit would be 1617$! SEO has positive ROI for me even with high spendings. But what are they?

Where I Spent Other 1389$ ???

Can you imagine that in June my other spendings beated even paid traffic spendings? After all calculation, I was a bit shocked. I spent 501,97$ buying new soft and courses. I spent 421,39$ on various paid memeberships.

Do I really need to spend that much to be successful? While I was “busy” buying new courses and signing up to new paid memberships, I barely had time to get the most out of my existing memberships (like UAW, SENuke and the like).

Again, this is what lost focus does. This is what impatience does. You see, instead of making more, I actually lost more. Remember my mistakes and think about it.

I also spent 200$ on content, and most of this content rests on my hard drive, except for the new site that I’ve created recently.

Of 2621$ I only spent 260$ on backlink creation projects – only 10% of my spend was for the SEO fuel, where SEO affiliates should concentrate their 80% efforts! This is what eventually makes us money, backlinks that push our sites to the top.

I hope my June mistakes that I uncovered here in details will help you to get a better vision of your business and what you’re doing right and wrong.

Plans for Future

It’s all simple – I will conentrate on backlinking of my many sites, adsense, CPA, and physical products. I’ll cut the memberships that I don;t really need now, stop playing with paid traffic (I still need to spend 200$ on Media Traffic account ) and really focus on what ‘s needed to push sites to the top. I’ll also try to tweak some sites for better conversion rates.

How Some Sites Performed in June

1 Clickbank sniper made only 1 sale of 38$. Last month it were 3 sales and 114$ in income.

1st product sniper – out of google top 3 and probably 200 to 400$ in leads. Last month income – 600$.

2nd product sniper – 47 clickthroughs and 4 sales – 194,90$ in income. Last month – 150$.

CPA sniper (started in mid-May) – 150 clickthroughs, 6 leads and 175$ in June (+ 1 lead today ). Offer popularity died, the offer is gone from all CPA networks except Azoogle. The competition is pretty hard, and I’m between #7-10 in google now.

Authority site (see my case study) – 2 sales (1/23 conversion rate) and 81,56$ in income so far.

Positive End of Post

Let every month start like that :)

Authority Site CS – Weekly Rankings Update

Hi!

I’ve caught cold and now cannot devote time to working a lot, so I missed my wekly update yesterday – here it is:

As you can see, I’m slowly climbing up for my main high traffic keyword and now in position 4. I made only 1 sale yet thanks to my sales page appearing in #7 position for the rebranded name of my product.

I’m going to concentrate more on this keyword now, although it gets lower traffic, seems that traffic converts.

Now I’ve put some new sites on hold until I recover, but the content writing is in progress and I just need some good mood to complete the sites and launch them to further concentrate on backlinking.

Authority Site CS – Rebranding Works in My Favour And Some More News

Hello!

That’s me again with the update on the authority site that I created and pushing now.

First, let’s wait a bit for the rankings update, some small movement over there. I’ll show rankings in 7 days after the previous rankings update.

Some fresh news with  my site – I found that my main product has been recently rebranded, so the 3 words keyword turned into 4 words keyword.

Changes I’ve made:

1 – Mentioned the new keyword once in my main sales page (homepage)

2 – Added this keyword as variation in a new profile building service that I’m now testing as beta tester (thanks to the creator of BookmarkWiz ;)

After 4 days my site appeared at #7 position for this new keyword, I mean today. I also made a first sale of 17.23$ for my main rebranded product.

Today I spent all the time cleaning out my new netbook, that I plan to make my #1 machine for work. My old comp glitches, slows and warns to wreck all the time – SENuke runs take up to 2 hours thanks to low virtual memory and low speed internet.

I also got report with Terry Kyle backlinks created for my main site. Terry Kyle links to this site are on the way and I’ll update the CS soon. Tomorrow I plan to boost my backlinks a bit, creating a feed from them, submiting it to RSS aggregators and social bookmarking it. I guess over 300 profiles were created successfully, so I need to take advantage and index as many of them as possible.

Authority Site CS – Docsharing Sites Submission

While SENuke works, I’ve decided to give a quick update on my case study.

I’m still pushing this site, and today I planned to submit my old press release to several high PR docsharing sites. WIth my fucking slow internet and glitchy old comp, I’ve spent a bunch of nerves, lots of strong language and 2 hours to get these 4 URLs where my press release is submitted.

Before submitting my .doc file, I hyperlinked my main keyword that once appears in press release, and also hyperlinked the authority site’s URL. So, each submission now has 2 backlinks to my money (ha-ha – money!) site. These documetns should be indexed pretty fast and backlinks count in google.

Now some bad news…

Position #5 in gogle and almost zero traffic

Yes this exactly the shit that I discovered yeterday, trying to understand why the super clickthrough-optimized site on 5th position in google for the main targetted term has only 1 click every 1-2 days to the mani product.

I’ve decided to check my ranks in Rank Tracker first, which is very accurate with USA google datacenter. I thought the site dropped. Next, I’ve decided to cross-check the site’s position in google’s adwords ad preview tool, where you can also choose US datacenter and watch exact position of your site in every world’s region. Ad Preview Tool showed too that I was #5, organically….. And also there were 11 (!!!) adwords competitors, 3 of them above the organic #1 site. So, in total, “thanks” to adwords my site is in reality on position 8 and all the traffic lands on higher placed  sites, including top 3 adwords adverts.

What a sh*t!

I need to push my site even higher to get at least some tiny traffic from 9900 exact searches a month.

Buying keyword, product name, fierce competition…

The good – At least I don’t pay for clicks to my site ;)

The bad – No traffic, sh*t!

The bottom line – Keep working baby!

Positive End Of Post

At least 3 or 4 weeks ago I launched a new site targeting CPA offer (now on Azoogle only). The product popularity skyrocketed in April-May and I decided to test if I can reap the bank riding this wave of popularity. In 3 weeks, my new site is already on position #10 for targeted keyword, it got 135 clickthroughs and 6 leads of 155$ total. It’s just position 10.

I’m now working in this project simultaneuously with my authority site, since they are both in the same niche. I’ll keep updating my authority site CS, however I need to concentrate more on this secret CPA project, since it’s already making me money. If I achieve some success here, I’ll write a post about it, since the competition is also active and I already got a couple of good ideas how to beat some of the boys.

See you! BTW, I’m back home from hospital several days ago.