New ClickBank Campaign – Initial Results

Hi everyone!

3 weeks ago I’ve launched my ClickBank campaign with a landing page. I’ve had that landing page ready several months ago, but I was busy with other CB and cpa offers.

I’ve run a direst linking campaign for this product back in the spring, and got mixed results – 64$ profit in January, 138$ loss in Feb, 46$ profit in March, 106$ loss in April and 245$loss in May. Considering high click costs for the keywords I’ve targeted, I was making constant sales and the product page converted good.

On August 14 I’ve made my projection calculations:

Product commission is about 40-43$. 0,60$ per click was a reasonable and realistic bid, so I decided to invest into 500 clicks. 500*0,55$=275$ ad spend and considering standard 1% CR I was expecting to make 500*1%=5*43$=215$ back. So you can see that this is a breaking even campaign and there’s a good potential in it.

I’ve launched my campaign in August 20, and here are my results till September 7:

12.09

I’ve set the daily budget to 30$ and targeted only USA. I’ve also picked the highest targeted keywords out of several 1000s – and my initial keyword list was only around 170 keywords. On this step I didn’t think about traffic volumes, and to be frank this is the reason why I’ve got only 233 clicks for 17 days.

Setting a low daily budget was the #1 reason why I could save my money and not let 100s $ to leave my pocket in 2-3 days. This is the most important lesson I learned based on my previous campaigns – if you want to quickly lose 300-1000$ – make your daliy budget high enough and bid on 300-500 keywords at once!

Net result was 30$ net profit and only 99$ spent so far.

September 7 – Campaign Initial Analysis

My exact stats for September 7 were 298 clicks and 129,47$ spent total and 3 sales and 129$ earned – perfect break even )))

300 clicks and 3 sales – that was exactly as I predicted 1% Conversion Rate (CR) – to be frank, I expected more as I’ve put my heart and soul into that landing page copy.

Next, I analysed CB analytics and found that only 63 hops were registered. THat means that out of 300 visitors, only 63 clicked through to the product page. Out of 63 3 people bought the product, so I had 4,76% CR from presold customers that visited product’s site.Not bad, but…

Only 21% of all the visitors who visited my site clicked through to the product page… That means I should improve my landing page clickthrough rate. I supposed that if I somehow could improve my LP CTR by 3 times (from 21% to 42%) for the same period of time I could have 298 visitors*42%=125 visitors to the product site and assuming the same 4,76% CR on the product site itself I could generate 125*4,76%=6 sales and 255$ income and 126$ net profit.

On Sep 7 I increased daily budget to 50$ a day, added 4 english speaking countries and added extra 200 keywords – 1 kw per adgroup. That didn’t affect my overall campaign performance.

Today I’ve taken a fresh look at my campaign performance and found that I only made 2 extra sales in 5 days. 1 of the sales was refunded, so OMS doesn’t show that and we can see 4 sales.

12.09-1

So far, the overal stats are:

506 clicks total, 224$ spent, 173$ earned – so my loss of 50$ was exactly as I predicted in my prelaunch calculations (it was due to refund, without it I would only lose 10$). 118 hops by CB, so my LP CTR is only 23,3% – not good! 5 sales from 118 hops = 4,23% CR from presold customers – nice!

Now my job is to make this campaign work with this set of keywords, and if I can turn it into profits, then it is time to add even more keywords, activate broad match to get more traffic, then add content network, image ads, yahoo, msn… But now my goal #1 is improving LP CTR.

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