08.08.10
Today I was sitting and learning new SEO stuff, and decided to take a step aside and switch my mind. In this month I planned to spend over 500$ running CPA offers with PPV traffic. This amount of money came from my June paid traffic experiments, and I decided to use this income for creating a new branch of my current affiliate business.
I started from learning how to create a PPV landing page in Affportal, but then decided to see what creatives are offered by CPA network, and found one that is great as a PPV lander, and mimics the offer page design etc.
It took me 2 hours to set everything up, there was a huge mess with Prosper202 tracking links, but finally I managed to sort everything out with help of PPV Playbook forum and a bit of good thinking. Once the offer lp and the tracking was completed, I’ve decided to grab URLs to bid on.
Easy way is to just go to Affportal, type in the related keywords and scrape top 10 or more URLs ranking for these keywords. I did this in May, and ended up bidding on over 100 URLs, and there was some competition for many of them. Only 1 or 2 URLs converted consistently, but my ROI wasn’t Ok then, and conversion rate was terrible, even with landing page.
This time, I’ve decided to put some thought into the process and actually find the demographics that could be interested in this offer – I don’t mean just age, income and sex and education level, but more deep analysis. After determining initial URLs, I then manually grabbed 51 URLs where my supposedly targeted demographics should hang on
The campaign was launched in LeadImpact, it took me just 3 minutes. Now I’ll be waiting for the keywords approval and initial results. The daily budget is set to 15$ for now, offer payout is 4.5$. I was happy to see that only 5 or 6 URLs from my list had higher bids, the rest is minimum bid of 0.015$ per impression. That could mean 2 things – either I’m a bit smarter than my competition, or these URLs were tested by other affiliates and there were no offers that fit these URLs, so I made wrong assumptions.
Real test will show how that goes, now I’m switching back to my SEO stuff… so much work here!
09.08.10
Today, according to PPV network, 545 impressions. Prosper202 shows no data, and the CPA offer shows 4 clicks. No leads for this day.
I haven’t checked the performace since I’ve been busy with other work. This is wrong since PPV campaign should be tracked several times a day, competition may outbid some targets, some targets may have huge traffic and eat all the budget etc. 4/545=0.73% CTR of the landing page – really bad! The higher CTR, the more profitable campaign will be.
PPV Spend – 8.6445$
Income – 0$
NET Loss – 8.65$
10.08.10
Today is the second day of my campaign, which I didn’t track eighter. I see huge variety of data between PPV network impressions report, Prosper202 LP visits report, and CPA offer clicks report – or maybe I’m missing something due to lack of experience.
Total impressions (PPV network report) – 1301
Total clicks (Prosper202) – 851
Total clicks (CPA) – 19
PPV spend – 20.27$
Income – 18$ (4 leads)
NET Loss – 1.12$
I’ve just found that my Prosper202 reports are in my local time, and CPA shows stats in EST (New York), so I cannot track everything to the point. These 4 leads are shown in Prosper as of 11.08. More, the keyword-level tracking didn’t work, so I don’t know what URLs were responsible for these leads.
I need to ask questions on forum about tracking issues, and what 851 click in Prosper could mean
11.08.10
Today’s stats are as follows:
Impressions – 905
Clicks – 17 (CTR 1.88%)
Leads – 0
NET Loss – 15.29$
12.08.10
I’ve just updated my bids (made all 51 keywords bids highest) and switched offer to another CPA network with higher payout. Why did that – for this new CPA network I can track exact leads and spends right in the Leadimpact account, thanks to postback pixel installed. So I know what URLs convert for sure.
When I run this offer in May, I found 1 URL that converts consistently, and now I’m not using this URL in this campaign. I want to see how that goes with the new CPA network, at least I can now rely on Prosper202 and Leadimpact, if prosper failes, I will use LI reporting.
Impressions – 888
Clicks – 14 (CTR 1.58%)
Leads – 0
NET Loss – 15.83$
13.08.10
Today I’ve stopped this campaign.
14.08.10
Did nothing with PPV campaigns.
15.08.10
Today I’ve decided to test the trial offer on Leadimpact. I’ve initially planned to direct link to the offer and not put much effort in this, but as I looked at Pop-up preview in Affportal, the offer page didn’t fit into the Leadimpact popup screen.
I’ve created a quick landing page in Affportal landing page builder, and linked it to my aff link. Also went to URL scraper and decided to scrape first 2 pages of URLs for 1 related keyword. Then I created modifications to these URLs in order to get more traffic from these. In Leadimpact I made my bids highest and daily budget set to 30$ (equals to offer payout). THe tracking seems to be installed as well, will see how it works. My cap in case of 0 conversions is 60$ (2 days run).
16.08.10
New targets for trial offer campaign aren’t approved yet.
17.08.10
Same story today – no activity yet.
18.08.10
I’ve lost patience and asked Leadimpact to review my campaign. I also took 13$ lead offer from my CPA network and decided to create direct linking campaigns. Checked the landing page in pop preview on Affportal, and made sure that call to actions are inside the popup screen.
I’ve decided to test 2 strategies with this offer, in MediaTraffic I launched campagin targeting Youtube videos related to my offer, total of 230+ targets. I don’t know if this will convert and if there ‘s any traffic – my bids are minimal at 0.015$ per impression.
Daily budget is 15$ and cap is 1/48 hours.
Then, I decided to implement the 2nd strategy on Leadimpact, and targeted the audience that has potentially could convert for this offer. I took my URLs from Affportal Alexa, Quantcast and Compete URLs database, since these URLs are in top 1 000 000 in Alexa, I hope to see some traffic from them. Total of 25 keywords. Budget is also 15$ and I saw that bids for this kind of promotion are higher – around 0.025$ per impression.
I’m eager to see how that goes, and hope this time prosper202 will work well.
Ok, down to the results:
leadimpact impr – 768
prosper202 – 494 clicks
CPA network – 588 clicks
leads – 0
19-30.08.10
During this period the stats from leadimpact, prosper202 and CPA network messed up, this campaign was a direct link, and I haven’t understood which results are valid. Seems that prosper202 doesn’t track as precise as needed for this sort of traffic. I made 0 leads and stopped this campaign.
total spend (leadimpact) – 45.02$
mediatraffic – 106.50$
17.08.10-30.08.10 – Last campaign this month
I’ll be brief here, after the major fall with 13$ lead campaign that I direct linked, I’ve decided to test the 30$ trial campaign on Leadimpact. I’ve created a landing page and during the17-24 august I targeted URLs. the traffic was tiny so on 25.08 I got my keywords approved (over 900 keywords related to my offer) and as you see that traffic spiked.
| Date
08/17/10 |
Impressions
46 |
Spend
1,9861 |
|
| 08/18/10 | 120 | 4,4541 | |
| 08/19/10 | 88 | 3,2891 | |
| 08/20/10 | 94 | 3,2233 | |
| 08/21/10 | 88 | 2,8873 | |
| 08/22/10 | 54 | 1,2207 | |
| 08/23/10 | 61 | 1,4385 | |
| 08/24/10 | 8 | 1,1103 | |
| 08/25/10 | 1 lead – 30$ | 149 | 2,7646 |
| 08/26/10 | 1 lead – 30$ | 553 | 9,5208 |
| 08/27/10 | 525 | 9,0424 | |
| 08/28/10 | 1 lead – 30$ | 375 | 6,5808 |
| 08/29/10 | 366 | 6,4397 | |
| 08/30/10 | 59 | 1,039 |
Total results for this campaign:
Spend – 53.96$
Income – 90$
Net Profit – 36.04$
Conclusion
Total spend – 332.86$
Total income – 122.40$
Net loss – 210.46$
Considering I was too busy with other projects, and didn’t pay time to PPV campaigns (that resulted in some big loss of 106$ in mediatraffic), still this whole system can be profitable if treated more seriously. I saw loser campaigns, and finally I managed to create a campaign that is in black ink now. It’s worth split-testing landers, uncovering keywords that are bringing ongoin traffic and tie the lander to these keywords, dd more targets and definitely add more and more campaigns.
Next month I’ll not be actively playing with PPV, since it requires more dedication. Currently I’m busy with lots of SEO projects, and cannot spread myself across so many tasks.
Again, with proper tracking, daily monitoring of spend and traffic, it’s possible to test many campaigns and spent 10-40$ to identify campaign potential. Much less than with PPC, where I spent 100$s just to find that campaign is a dud.
If fact, I allocated 500$ to spend on PPV this month. Whatever net result might be. I see some return, which is not bad for some first steps in PPV game. I got a lot of experience (both how to do things, how not to do things) and what is more important, I created several good ideas that are worth testing
Just need more time for this.
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how can i learn about ppv marketing from basic to advanced?
hasbulaqill recently posted..Tutorial SEO Cara Bagaimana Dapatkan LSI Keyword
[Reply]
PPV playbook is a good course that shows all the necessary things to start PPV. advanced is only from experience and practice. ppv playbook forum is a good place to hang on, but it’s 67$ a month membership.
Btw I see lots of acai offers down on azoogle, as well as other networks. this really sucks but hope they will return back.
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which offers did you try? screenshot of landing page?
[Reply]
Grand Reply:
September 21st, 2010 at 9:22 am
@s shres, Hi!
I tried scholarships4moms offer, later I tried ringtones (Flycell I believe) and then free trial offer of acai supplement (any of them, they’re all similar)
For scholarships4moms I took banner from CPA network (they have banners that fit 750×550 PPV format) and that was my landing page.
Acai offer – I just direct linked to it, used no landing pages.
You can easily create a lander in pixlr.com – free photo editor. Just grab pieces of offer site, add big call to action button (use google images search to grab tons of them) and that’s it! THen simply create html file in Dreamweaver and place this pixlr image and link it to your affiliate link. Upload to server and your lander is ready – PPV landers are really simple: headline, 3-4 benefit points and HUGE call to action that stands out and cries “click me”
Hope this helps
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Awesome post dude. Thanks for sharing the insights of your campaigns. I do agree that PPV requires lot more testing & dedication. have heard lot of gurus talking about how much money you can earn with PPV but haven’t really seen anyone with huge profits..
You said it right.. There is always a discrepancy between what prosper reports Vs CPA reports… I tried prosper & then moved to PPV track.
[Reply]
Anton Reply:
October 25th, 2010 at 7:27 am
@Pete, Hi Pete!
Do you also do PPV? I heard of a new tracking tool called CPVLab or so, some guyes are reporting much better results with it!
I’m not doing any PPV right now, but plan to keep doinf it later )
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,-” that seems to be a great topic, i really love it “*;
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